- More Info
The Newlyn School artists ‘discovered’ this picturesque fishing village at a transitional moment in its history. Just as the painters were setting up their easels and depicting the lives of the local Newlyn community in the 1880s, its fishing industry was expanding rapidly. By 1900, both the north and south piers had been built, fish sales had moved from the beach to purpose-built sheds and Newlyn Fishermen had fought pitched battles with their Lowestoft rivals in the infamous Newlyn Riots of 1896. A few years later, in 1908, the new harbour road cut Gwavas Quay off from the sea. Featuring a wealth of paintings, photographs and artefacts from the period 1880 to 1930, this exhibition provides an insight into how the artists represented these changes, or chose to ignore them for the sake of artistic licence. Curated with assistance from Dr Joanna Mattingley.
- See website for further details